About Me

Hello again, Jeanene here!

As a mom with ADHD and LD, and raising children with their own learning differences, I know the struggle of trying to get through the day. Keeping up with chores and social events, juggling doctor’s appointments and therapies, trying to tame the daily deluge of homework, projects, endless paperwork, and after-school activities; I’ve been there, done that, and I remember how out of control it can feel. Being on the other side of that part of my journey gives me a unique insight into your daily struggles. Having worked with populations such as pediatric hospice, people living with HIV/AIDS, homeless families, military families, and teachers, as well as a wide variety of individuals in my private therapy practice, I understand the necessity of caring for and accepting yourself, and finding balance in your life so that you can continue to use your gifts to help others and get the most out of your life.

My Approach & Values

As a licensed clinical social worker, I value the rich history you bring to the therapy relationship. I strive to honor your life experiences and the people who are a part of your community, however you choose to define that. My goal is to start slow and progress at a pace that is comfortable for you. Personal growth and change can be hard so having me working beside you can help lighten the load a bit. While I won’t be able to personally relate to everything you’ve experienced, I find it important to learn from you, keep an open-mind, and not let our differences prevent us from relating to each other. My practice is inclusive and welcoming to all.


More About Me

(come on, I know you’re curious!)

I am a native of Virginia Beach where I currently live with my husband, our cocker spaniel and a spunky little white-capped pionus parrot with no wings (baby, she was born that way!). I enjoy spending time with family and friends, going to the beach, listening to live music, taking photographs and putting them in albums, and learning about (and buying!) new tech gadgets.

I went to James Madison University in Harrisonburg, VA where I majored in biology and minored in psychology. After working for a pediatric geneticist for a few years, while I figured out what I wanted to be when I grew up, I went to Norfolk State University where I earned my master’s degree in social work. From there, I worked full-time, wanted more time with my kids and worked part-time, needed even more time to manage my busy family so I did the mom-thing     full-time, and then I went back to working full-time.

So now you know a little about me. Feel free to ask a question or let me know you want to schedule an appointment

For emergencies call 911 or visit your nearest hospital


    Anywhere in the state of Virginia